Skip to main content

City of Castlegar Invites the Community to Recognize Mayors

On Monday, October 17, 2022, people who have served as mayor of the modern City of Castlegar will be formally recognized.

In 1974, the town of Castlegar amalgamated with neighbouring Kinnaird and became the City of Castlegar. Since then, Audrey Moore, Mike O’Connor, Lawrence Chernoff, Bruno Tassone, and Kirk Duff have served as Mayor, giving years of service and their personal time to building a strong community.

To recognize City of Castlegar Mayors for their outstanding commitments, the City is implementing a new process which will see Mayors presented with a commemorative gavel for their service and commitment to our community at the end of their term.

“There is no higher calling than public service,” says City of Castlegar Chief Administrative Officer, Chris Barlow. “To launch this new process, we’re inviting the community to join us in the presentation to Castlegar’s five past Mayors and share stories and memories of their time serving the City.”

In the future, the presentation will be made at the Mayor’s final Council meeting.

Event Details

  • When: Monday, October 17 at 7:00 pm at the Regular Council Meeting
  • Location: Community Forum, 445 13th Avenue

This event will include the presentation of commemorative gavels to Mayors for their service and commitment to our community, a summary of their service and an opportunity for them to say a few words about their time serving as Castlegar’s mayor, and an opportunity for the community to share stories.

Copyright © 2024 City of Castlegar, all rights reserved.